Provisional 2019/2020 calendar revealed

WEC announces entry list

In the run-up to this weekend’s 6 Hours of Silverstone, the FIA WEC today revealed its provisional calendar for the 2019/2020 season. The inaugural winter season for the endurance series will return to an eight-race format, with two popular circuits returning to the calendar.

Calendar: WEC, ACO and FIA flags in the wind

The 2018/19 Super Season marked the FIA WEC switch from a summer season to a winter one, with teams and drivers competing from September to June instead of March to November.

The new winter calendar is just one of a number of changes for the 2019/2020 season. Acting on suggestions from fans, the WEC has decided to introduce four different race lengths for the new season. Alongside the classic six-hour format and the 24 Hours of Le Mans, there will also be races held over four hours and eight hours.

Calendar returns to eight races

The series will also be returning to some familiar locations which have been missing in the recent past. Brazil and Bahrain return to the calendar, with the WEC organisers evidently attempting to make the first winter season as global as possible. The possibility of nine races from 2021 onwards has also not been ruled out in order to close the remaining gaps in the calendar. The organisers intend to organise one race in every month from September to June as part of the new calendar concept.

The 2019/2020 season begins with the 4 Hours of Silverstone on 1 September 2019. The season finale will be the 2020 24 Hours of Le Mans on 13 and 14 June.

  • 1 September 2019 – 4 Hours of Silverstone (UK)
  • 13 October 2019 – 6 Hours of Fuji (Japan)
  • 3 November 2019 – 4 Hours of Shanghai (China)
  • 14 December 2019 – 8 Hours of Bahrain (Bahrain)
  • 1 February 2020 – 6 Hours of São Paulo (Brazil)
  • xx March 2020 – 1000 Miles of Sebring (USA)
  • 3 May 2020 – 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps (Belgium)
  • 13-14 June 2020 – 24 Hours of Le Mans (France)

Image © WEC-Magazin