WEC releases provisional calendar for 2021

Not only was the 24 Hours of Le Mans the venue for the highlight of the WEC season, the FIA and ACO also took the opportunity to lift the lid on next year’s 2021 calendar. The season is set to take us to a total of six different circuits, including a new destination for the WEC paddock.

With the effects of the coronavirus still very much being felt around the world, the WEC decision-makers have shifted down a gear and streamlined the “new” summer calendar across six races. The calendar remains provisional until approved by the FIA and may see adjustments depending on the further development of the pandemic.

Silverstone out, Monza in

The 2021 season is set to kick off at the 1000 Miles of Sebring in March, which will once again be held on the same weekend as the 12 Hours of Sebring IMSA sportscar race. One new feature here is that teams and drivers will gather at Sebring in advance of the season curtain-raiser for two days of testing.

After a one-month break, the season continues with the 6 Hours of Spa and the 24 Hours of Le Mans in June. The newest addition to the WEC calendar, Monza, then follows soon after in July with an inaugural six-hour race – replacing Silverstone.

August is left free to organise transport for the “flyaway” races in Asia, with the 6 Hours of Fuji the next stop on the world tour. The Japan round moves forward slightly to late September from its traditional October date.

The season finale will take place in Bahrain, although the eight-hour race seen in the 2019/2020 season will be replaced by a standard six-hour format.

The WEC’s first foray into Africa, which was originally planned at Kyalami, is set to be deferred until further notice. With further calendar developments depending on the progression of the global COVID-19 pandemic, the South African circuit may return to the calendar in 2022.

The WEC calendar 2021

13 – 14 March 2021Pre-Season Test (Sebring)
19 March 20211000 Miles of Sebring
1 May 20216 Hours of Spa
12 – 13 June 202124 Hours of Le Mans
18 July 20216 Hours of Monza
26 September 20216 Hours of Fuji
20 November 20216 Hours of Bahrain