Provisional 6 Hours of Silverstone entry list revealed

The 6 Hours of Silverstone will get under way on the weekend of April 10/11/12th. The event will also mark the start of a brand new World Endurance Championship season which will once again see the top level of Prototype and GT drivers and teams battle it out in the ultimate endurance battle to be crowned champions across the eight race championship season.

Screen Shot 2015-03-10 at 14.32.04Although the race is looming on the horizon, with only 32 days until the lights go out at Silverstone, there are still several race seats up for grabs. The ByKolles team have still got two vacant seats, with Simon Trummer the only confirmed driver for the team to date. The LMP2 class which has seen massive growth since the Coupe prototypes have become normal spec, is the only class to have all drivers confirmed.

Aston Martin are the only team in the LMGTE-PRO class yet to announce their full line ups although you only have to look as far as the Aston Martin works driver roster to have a very good guess. Confirmed drivers to date for the British team are championship newcomer, Marco Sorensen, and regulars, Fernando Rees and Darren Turner.

The Aston Martin team are also yet to confirm their line-ups in the LMGTE-AM category. The only other seat available baring the Aston Martin opportunities is one at the returning Larbre Competition squad.

Screen Shot 2015-03-10 at 14.49.12

The LMP1 and LMGTE-PRO class’s are the only ones that have the 2014 champions returning to defend their title in the coming season. Anthony Davidson and Sebastian Buemi will be defending their title honours in their number 1 Toyota TS040 with the help of experienced Toyota LMP1 challenger, Kazuki Nakajima. Gianmaria Bruni and Toni Vilander will be attempting to continue their un beaten championship run in the LMGTE-PRO class with their AF Corse prepared Ferrari 458 Italias.

Unfortunately the fears that Rebellion Racing would miss the first round have been confirmed as they are not featured in the LMP1 category. This also means we will still have to wait a little while longer to find out who the team have in store for their driver line-ups.

Source – FIAWEC