More driver reshuffling in LMP2

posted in: General, LMP2 | 0


The LMP2 dri­ver mar­ket has been a hive of activ­i­ty this sea­son, with numer­ous teams chop­ping and chang­ing their line-ups almost on a race-by-race basis. The lat­est changes come at G-Dri­ve Rac­ing, where Will Stevens replaces Ger­man dri­ver René Rast to part­ner Roman Rusi­nov and Alex Brun­dle at Fuji.

Else­where, Alex Lynn becomes the lat­est sin­gle-seater grad­u­ate to make the switch over to sports­car rac­ing. The 2014 GP3 cham­pi­on made the step up to GP2 in 2015, while also tak­ing on a role as devel­op­ment dri­ver at Williams in F1. The Brit will join the sec­ond Manor car, mak­ing its first appear­ance in the WEC since the 6 Hours of the Nür­bur­gring, along­side Shin­ji Nakano and Tor Graves.

There are also sweep­ing changes at Extreme Speed Motor­sports, with the #30 crew of Ed Brown, Johannes van Over­beek and Scott Sharp step­ping down. They are replaced by Anto­nio Giov­inazzi, Giedo van der Garde and Sean Gelael. The ESM car will also change liv­er­ies from its tra­di­tion­al Téquila Patrón green to a design fea­tur­ing Jagonya Ayam, the Indone­sian KFC sub­sidiary owned by Geleal’s father.

Final­ly, Mikhail Aleshin will join the #27 SMP Rac­ing entry for the final three rounds of the sea­son after join­ing the Russ­ian-entered out­fit for the 24 Hours of Le Mans. Aleshin has spent 2016 com­pet­ing in Indy­Cars.

Image © WEC-Mag­a­zin / Wal­ter Schruff